For the Love of Camp

Foundation for Jewish Camp (FJC) convenes Board of Directors Meeting in Montreal 

Federation CJA (FCJA) welcomed the Foundation for Jewish Camp (FJC) to Quebec from July 7 to 9, 2014, playing host to the FJC’s Board of Directors meeting. Federation CJA was honored to have Montreal chosen as the destination for this year’s meeting, where one of the goals of the board meeting was to bring together the Montreal area Jewish community, industry leaders, and national philanthropists to honour the work being done by FCJA’s Generations Fund Camp Initiative to foster a strong camp culture within the Jewish community.

“We know Jewish camp builds strong Jewish communities and a more vibrant Jewish future,” said Jeremy J. Fingerman, CEO, Foundation for Jewish Camp.  “We are grateful to have partners like Federation CJA who understand this and support initiatives which enable more children to benefit from transformative experiences at camp.”

During their visit, the FJC Board of Directors traveled to four of Montreal’s participating Jewish camps – Camp B’nai Brith (CBB), Camp Massad, Camp Kinneret, and the Harry Bronfman Y Country Camp (YCC)— and attended an intimate cocktail reception at the home of the Chair of Federation CJA’s Generations Fund Camping Initiative, Martin Schwartz, and his wife Sondra.

“I am deeply committed to Jewish overnight camping,” explained Chair of Federation CJA’s Generations Fund Camping Initiative, Martin Schwartz, “because I believe—and all statistics prove—that summers at Jewish overnight camp turn young Jewish people into spirited and engaged adults, laying the groundwork for a strong, vibrant Jewish community. “

The Montreal Jewish community has benefited greatly from a close partnership with the Foundation for Jewish Camp, an organization dedicated solely to Jewish overnight camping in North America. Every year, the FJC serves over 155 non-profit Jewish overnight camps, 75,000 campers and 11,000 counselors in the United States and Canada. They have been instrumental in providing leadership, expertise, and matching funds for local camping initiatives, including the One Happy Camper program, which provides incentive grants of $1000 for children attending Jewish overnight camp for the first time. Through this program, over 800 Montreal children have benefitted from a summer at a Jewish overnight camp since it was launched in 2011.

We welcome your feedback and invite your comments.

Leave a comment

Reader comments are the opinion of the comment writer, not Federation CJA

Comments that make false or unsubstantiated allegations will not be published, nor will comments that contain defamatory, inaccurate, rude, distasteful, disrespectful, abusive, vulgar, hateful, harassing, obscene, profane, sexually oriented or threatening language.

Comments that use hearsay or are based on reports where the supposed fact or quote is not a matter of public knowledge also may not be permitted.

Federation CJA reserves the right to withhold from publication comments that are deemed to be spam or unrelated to the article at which they are posted. Comments that include personal attacks on other people taking part in this website and/or are invasive of another's privacy may also be withheld from publication.

Spelling and grammatical mistakes will not be corrected.

Pour l’amour du camp d’été

La Foundation for Jewish Camp réunit son conseil d’administration à Montréal. 

La Fédération CJA a été l’hôte de la réunion du conseil d’administration de la Foundation for Jewish Camp (Fondation pour les camps de vacances juifs) du 7 au 9 juillet derniers. La Fédération CJA était honorée que Montréal ait été choisie pour la rencontre de cette année, dont l’un des objectifs était de regrouper la communauté juive montréalaise, des leaders de l’industrie et des philanthropes nationaux pour rendre hommage à l’Initiative des camps du Fonds Générations de la Fédération CJA. Le travail accompli dans le cadre de cette Initiative contribue grandement à promouvoir la culture du camp d’été au sein de la communauté juive.

« Nous savons que le camp d’été juif joue un rôle primordial dans la formation de communautés juives solides, car il est l’un des fondements d’un avenir juif prometteur, a affirmé Jeremy J. Fingerman, chef de la direction de la Foundation for Jewish Camp. Nous sommes heureux de pouvoir compter sur des partenaires tels que la Fédération CJA qui comprennent notre position et appuient les initiatives permettant à plus d’enfants de vivre des expériences transformantes dans les camps d’été. »

Pendant leur séjour, les membres du conseil d’administration de la Foundation for Jewish Camp ont visité quatre camps d’été juifs de la région montréalaise – le Camp B’nai Brith (CBB), le Camp Massad, le Camp Kinneret et le Harry Bronfman Y Country Camp (YCC). En outre, ils ont été reçus par le président de l’Initiative des camps du Fonds Générations de la Fédération CJA Martin Schwartz et sa femme, Sondra.

« Je suis très attaché aux camps de vacances juifs, a expliqué le président de l’Initiative des camps du Fonds Générations de la Fédération CJA Martin Schwartz, parce que je crois — et toutes les statistiques le prouvent — qu’en passant leurs étés dans un camp de vacances juif, les jeunes Juifs se transforment en des adultes engagés et à l’esprit vif. Ce sont eux qui seront les piliers d’une communauté juive forte et dynamique. »

La communauté juive de Montréal a grandement bénéficié de son étroit partenariat avec la Foundation for Jewish Camp, un organisme dédié uniquement aux séjours dans les camps de vacances juifs en Amérique du Nord. Tous les ans, la Foundation apporte son soutien à plus de 155 camps de vacances juifs sans but lucratif, à 75 000 campeurs et à 11 000 moniteurs aux États-Unis et au Canada. Essentiel, l’apport de la Foundation sert à fournir du leadership et de l’expertise. De plus, il sert à financer des programmes locaux comme One Happy Camper, qui offre des subventions de 1 000 $ aux enfants fréquentant un camp juif pour la première fois. C’est ainsi que, depuis le lancement de One Happy Camper en 2011, plus de 800 jeunes Montréalais ont pu passer un été dans un camp de vacances juif.

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos commentaires sur le contenu de cet article ou sur tout autre sujet.

Faites un commentaire

Les commentaires des lecteurs reflètent l’opinion de leurs auteurs et non celle de la Fédération CJA.

Les commentaires comportant des allégations erronées ou non fondées ne seront pas publiés, pas plus que ne le seront les commentaires dont les propos seront diffamatoires, inexacts, grossiers, déplaisants, irrespectueux, injurieux, vulgaires, haineux, malveillants, obscènes, blasphématoires, à tendance sexuelle ou menaçants.

Les commentaires basés sur des ouï-dire ou sur des rapports dont les présumés faits ou mentions ne seront pas de notoriété publique pourraient également ne pas être publiés.

La Fédération CJA se réserve le droit de s’abstenir de publier les commentaires qui seraient considérés comme du pourriel ou qui n’auraient aucun lien avec les articles apparaissant sur le site Web. Les commentaires, qui comportent des attaques personnelles aux auteurs de commentaires affichés sur ce site Web ou qui nuisent à la vie privée d’une autre personne, pourraient ne pas être publiés.

Les fautes de grammaire et d’orthographe ne seront pas corrigées.