From Mother to Daughter: Love for Community

For Debby Becker Newpol and her daughter Alix Newpol, love for the community is in their genes.

Sitting across from each other engaged in lively conversation, you might get the impression the two beautiful women were sisters. The love between them is palpable, and is only matched by the energy they exude. They are Debby Becker Newpol, and her daughter, Alix Newpol.

We met in the Bronfman Israel Experience Center (BIEC) offices, where Alix is director of Montreal’s March of the Living (MOL) program. Debby has stopped by to say hello before a meeting with the Women’s Philanthropy division of Federation CJA, where she is currently involved with the Mosaic cookbook, for which all proceeds are being directed to women in need. As the conversation switches from Alix’s upcoming wedding—to a boy she met at Jewish summer camp—to Debby’s father’s recent second bar mitzvah (yes, bar mitzvah!), it is clear that community is as deeply ingrained in them as is their love for each other.

“We share a lot of interests, generally, in life, and we participate in many community events together,” says Alix.

Adds Debby, “she has always supported me in all my endeavours, and I am proud to support hers.”

For Debby, those endeavours have included an active community life and lifelong commitment to helping those less fortunate in the Montreal Jewish community. Born and raised in Montreal, Debby has been volunteering for as long as she can remember—giving back is something she learned from her family who has been deeply rooted in the Jewish community for three generations. But, she says, “as much as I give, I get back in spades – if not more.”

When she became president of Agence Ometz in 2002, it was one of her proudest moments. “Ometz is important to me –not just because I was involved with its predecessor, Jewish Vocational Services, or even because of the fact that my father, Hillel, was president of JVS/JEM in 1968-70 as well as past president of Federation CJA, but because it’s so vitally important in the infrastructure of the federation agencies, and dedicated to serving some of the most vulnerable people in the community. “

Alix Newpol and her mother Debby Becker Newpol.

Now, Debby has the privilege of watching her daughter, Alix, take the lead in her own community endeavours.

“The March of the Living was cancelled when I was in grade eleven, in 2002,” reflects Alix. “In the following years they started the young adult delegation, and they opened it up to all the kids who had missed it when the program was cancelled. I signed up immediately. And the experience changed my life forever.”

Nearly 10 years later, and living in New York, Alix got a call from her brother, Josh, who was a madrich (leader) on the trip, and who got her thinking about coming back to Montreal to possibly join the MOL team as a professional. “It just felt right,” she says. Alix was named March of the Living program director in 2013 and coordinating the MOL program has been a tremendous personal fulfillment.

In the true spirit of l’dor v’dor (from generation to generation), Alix has picked up the baton of commitment to community that had been instilled in her early on. Not surprisingly, her mother is flush with pride. But even Debby couldn’t guess what would come next: Alix suggested that her mother would make an excellent madricha.

And so, this spring, Alix Newpol and Debby Becker Newpol will stand arm in arm as they embark, together, on their first joint community effort as leaders on the March of the Living program.

“I feel,” Debby concludes with a smile, “like the luckiest person in the world.”

  • MARLENE BOURKE says:

    I applaud Tikun Olam and CJA for your wonderful and expressive account and recognition of Debbie and Ali. Since I know the Becker/Newpole clan it is no surprise to me that they are being honored in this way.
    Marlene Bourke

  • We welcome your feedback and invite your comments.

    Leave a comment

    Reader comments are the opinion of the comment writer, not Federation CJA

    Comments that make false or unsubstantiated allegations will not be published, nor will comments that contain defamatory, inaccurate, rude, distasteful, disrespectful, abusive, vulgar, hateful, harassing, obscene, profane, sexually oriented or threatening language.

    Comments that use hearsay or are based on reports where the supposed fact or quote is not a matter of public knowledge also may not be permitted.

    Federation CJA reserves the right to withhold from publication comments that are deemed to be spam or unrelated to the article at which they are posted. Comments that include personal attacks on other people taking part in this website and/or are invasive of another's privacy may also be withheld from publication.

    Spelling and grammatical mistakes will not be corrected.

De mère en fille : pour l’amour de la communauté

Debby Becker Newpol et sa fille Alix Newpol ont l’amour de la communauté dans le sang.

À les voir l’une en face de l’autre, engagées dans une discussion animée, on pourrait être porté à croire que ces deux superbes femmes sont des sœurs. L’amour qui les unit est palpable, tout comme l’énergie qu’elles dégagent. Ces femmes, ce sont Debby Becker Newpol et sa fille, Alix Newpol.

Nous les avons rencontrées au Centre Bronfman des expériences en Israël (CBEI), où Alix est directrice du volet montréalais de La Marche des vivants. Debby est passée lui dire bonjour avant de se rendre à une réunion de la division de la Philanthropie des femmes de la Fédération CJA, où elle collabore actuellement au projet de livre de recettes Mosaic dont les profits servent à venir en aide aux femmes dans le besoin. La conversation passe du mariage prochain d’Alix (son futur mari et elle se sont rencontrés dans un camp d’été juif), à la seconde bar mitzvah (oui, bar mitzvah!) du père de Debby, qui a eu lieu récemment. Manifestement, la communauté est profondément ancrée en elles, aussi bien que l’amour qu’elles ont l’une pour l’autre.

« Nous avons plusieurs intérêts communs, dit Alix, et nous participons ensemble à de nombreux événements pour la communauté. »

Debby ajoute : « Elle m’a toujours soutenue dans mes projets, et je suis fière de la soutenir à mon tour. »

Debby a toujours été active dans la communauté juive de Montréal et, toute sa vie, elle s’est engagée à aider les plus démunis. Elle est née et a grandi à Montréal. De tout temps, elle a fait du bénévolat. Enracinée dans la communauté juive depuis trois générations, sa famille lui a appris à redonner à la société ce qu’elle avait reçu. « Mais, dit-elle, ce que je donne m’est rendu au centuple. »

Sa nomination à la direction de l’Agence Ometz en 2002 est l’une des réalisations dont elle la plus fière. « Ometz est importante pour moi non seulement parce que j’ai collaboré avec son prédécesseur, le Centre juif de travail (JVS), ni parce que mon père, Hillel, a été président de JVS/JEM de 1968 à 1970 et président de la Fédération CJA , mais plutôt parce qu’Ometz joue un rôle vital dans l’infrastructure des agences de la Fédération et qu’elle se consacre à aider les gens les plus vulnérables de la communauté. »

Alix Newpol et sa mère Debby Becker Newpol.

Debby a maintenant le privilège de voir sa fille Alix mener ses propres projets dans la communauté.

« Le programme La Marche des vivants a été aboli en 2002. J’étais alors en 4e secondaire, raconte Alix. Dans les années qui ont suivi, une délégation de jeunes adultes fut formée, et cela a permis à ceux qui n’avaient pas vécu l’expérience d’y participer. Je me suis inscrite aussitôt. Cette expérience a changé ma vie. »

Environ dix ans plus tard, alors qu’elle vivait à New York, Alix a reçu un appel de son frère Josh, qui était madrich (accompagnateur) pour le voyage. Il lui a donné l’envie de revenir à Montréal et de devenir professionnelle pour La Marche. « L’idée m’a plu, dit-elle. » Et en 2013, Alix était nommée directrice de La Marche des vivants. Coordonner le programme de La Marche a été pour elle un formidable accomplissement.

Dans la plus pure tradition de  l’dor va dor (de génération en génération), Alix a repris le flambeau de l’engagement communautaire, valeur qu’on lui avait inculquée dès l’enfance. Il va sans dire que sa mère n’en est pas peu fière. En outre, même Debby n’aurait pu deviner ce qui l’attendait : Alix a suggéré que sa mère devienne madricha.

C’est ainsi qu’au printemps prochain, Alix Newpol et Debby Becker Newpol seront toutes deux accompagnatrices lors de leur première participation commune à La Marche des vivants.

Debby conclut en souriant : « Je suis la femme la plus chanceuse du monde. »

  • MARLENE BOURKE dit :

    I applaud Tikun Olam and CJA for your wonderful and expressive account and recognition of Debbie and Ali. Since I know the Becker/Newpole clan it is no surprise to me that they are being honored in this way.
    Marlene Bourke

  • Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos commentaires sur le contenu de cet article ou sur tout autre sujet.

    Faites un commentaire

    Les commentaires des lecteurs reflètent l’opinion de leurs auteurs et non celle de la Fédération CJA.

    Les commentaires comportant des allégations erronées ou non fondées ne seront pas publiés, pas plus que ne le seront les commentaires dont les propos seront diffamatoires, inexacts, grossiers, déplaisants, irrespectueux, injurieux, vulgaires, haineux, malveillants, obscènes, blasphématoires, à tendance sexuelle ou menaçants.

    Les commentaires basés sur des ouï-dire ou sur des rapports dont les présumés faits ou mentions ne seront pas de notoriété publique pourraient également ne pas être publiés.

    La Fédération CJA se réserve le droit de s’abstenir de publier les commentaires qui seraient considérés comme du pourriel ou qui n’auraient aucun lien avec les articles apparaissant sur le site Web. Les commentaires, qui comportent des attaques personnelles aux auteurs de commentaires affichés sur ce site Web ou qui nuisent à la vie privée d’une autre personne, pourraient ne pas être publiés.

    Les fautes de grammaire et d’orthographe ne seront pas corrigées.