Making Chaverim

Ofakim brings Jewish community to Montreal’s South Shore. 

Ofakim is an educational program for children ages 3-12 and their families on the South Shore. The theme changes from month to month, as does the location, but the desire to develop their Jewish identities remains a constant factor.

Once a month, dozens of Jewish children and their families from various South Shore locations such as Brossard, Candiac, St. Bruno, St. Constant and Greenfield Park, among others, meet at the home of a host participant in order to come together and make connections.  The goal is to educate children and families on the South Shore, to bring them into contact with Judaism in a secular humanist environment, and overall, to build a sense of community.

“It’s fantastic that there is something Jewish on the South Shore that is a good fit for our family,” said Libby Nasimok, an Ofakim member who hosted the July gathering. “We like that it is a relaxed atmosphere where our kids can play and have fun while further developing their Jewish identity. It’s important to us that they feel part of a Jewish community.”

Ofakim July Host Libby Nasimok and her son

Federation CJA has been supporting the Jewish families in the area since 1996 through the Community Grants funding to the South Shore Jewish Community Centre, an area that has seen a 67% increase in the Jewish population since 2001. There are currently close to 1,000 Jewish individuals living in the South Shore. Over the years, Federation CJA has also provided training and workshops.

Ofakim Group Celebrates Israel in the South Shore

In July the Ofakim theme was a simulated trip to Israel. Children learned about the culture, geography and people of the country by participating in different activities. After receiving their boarding passes, the children, who call themselves chaverim (which means friends in Hebrew) learned about Israeli geography, painted a flag to represent their group, played matkot (Israeli paddle ball), and danced to Israeli folk music. Parents got into the fun and got caught up while noshing on hummus, pita and falafel.

Ofakim is a grassroots initiative created by parents living on the South Shore and supported by the Generation Fund’s jQmtl , and is open to anyone looking for some family friendly Jewish content. The group is nondenominational, and is happy to include anyone who feels a connection to the Jewish community.

Everyone is welcome, but being a home-based program the location changes each month, so signing up ahead of time is a must.

For more information about Ofakim please contact Adrienne.Sholzberg@federationcja.org.

  • michael daren says:

    Libby is our daughter. We are thrilled at the initiative that she & Kevin & their friends have taken & are most appreciative of the Montreal Community’s support.

    Our grandchildren are so precious to us its gratifying to see this opportunity for them to connect Jewishly (?)

    Kol Hakavod & our thanks.

  • Abi says:

    Je cherche quelque chose similaire, mais plutôt proche de Laval, Est-ce que ça existe?
    Merci, pour l’information.

  • We welcome your feedback and invite your comments.

    Leave a comment

    Reader comments are the opinion of the comment writer, not Federation CJA

    Comments that make false or unsubstantiated allegations will not be published, nor will comments that contain defamatory, inaccurate, rude, distasteful, disrespectful, abusive, vulgar, hateful, harassing, obscene, profane, sexually oriented or threatening language.

    Comments that use hearsay or are based on reports where the supposed fact or quote is not a matter of public knowledge also may not be permitted.

    Federation CJA reserves the right to withhold from publication comments that are deemed to be spam or unrelated to the article at which they are posted. Comments that include personal attacks on other people taking part in this website and/or are invasive of another's privacy may also be withheld from publication.

    Spelling and grammatical mistakes will not be corrected.

Devenir chaverim

Le programme Ofakim transporte l’esprit de la communauté juive sur la Rive-Sud de Montréal.  

Le programme éducatif Ofakim a été conçu pour les enfants de 3 à 12 ans et leurs familles qui habitent sur la Rive-Sud de Montréal. Axé sur une nouvelle thématique tous les mois et offert chaque fois dans un endroit différent, il vise le développement de l’identité juive.

À chaque rencontre, une douzaine d’enfants et leurs parents provenant de différentes municipalités de la Rive-Sud, dont Brossard, Candiac, Saint-Bruno, Saint-Constant et Greenfield Park, se retrouvent chez l’un des participants. Les enfants et leurs parents prennent ainsi contact avec le judaïsme dans un environnement laïc humaniste. Cependant, par-dessus tout, ils développent un esprit communautaire.

« C’est formidable qu’il y ait, sur la Rive-Sud, des activités sur le judaïsme qui répondent aux besoins de ma famille, déclare Libby Nasimok, membre d’Ofakim chez qui s’est tenu la réunion de juillet. Nous aimons cette atmosphère détendue qui permet à nos enfants de jouer et de s’amuser tout en développant leur identité juive. C’est important pour nous qu’ils soient conscients de leur appartenance à la communauté juive. »

L’hôtesse du groupe Ofakim du mois de juillet, Libby Nasimok, et son fils.

La Fédération CJA soutient les familles juives de la Rive-Sud de Montréal depuis 1996 par l’entremise de subventions offertes au Centre communautaire juif de la Rive-Sud. Dans cette région, la population juive, qui a connu une croissance de 67 % depuis 2001, atteint près de 1 000 personnes. Au fil des ans, la Fédération CJA y a également organisé des formations et des ateliers.

Le groupe Ofakim fait honneur à Israël sur la Rive-Sud.

En juillet, le groupe Ofakim a reproduit un voyage en Israël. Diverses activités sur la culture, la géographie et la population du pays ont été offertes aux enfants. Après avoir reçu leur carte d’embarquement, les jeunes qui se surnommaient les chaverim (mot qui signifie amis en hébreu), ont eu une leçon de géographie israélienne, peint un drapeau à l’effigie de leur groupe, joué aux matkot (version israélienne du paddle-ball) et dansé sur de la musique folklorique. Les parents, qui se sont eux aussi bien amusés, ont fort apprécié le houmous, les pitas et les falafels.

Ofakim, une initiative qui a été lancée par des parents de la Rive-Sud,  est financée par le programme JQMTL du Fonds Générations. Elle est ouverte à tous ceux qui cherchent à combiner projets à contenu juif et environnement propice aux familles. Le groupe n’a pas d’affiliation religieuse et accueille en ses rangs toute personne qui se sent proche de la communauté juive.

Tous sont les bienvenus. Par ailleurs, comme le programme a lieu dans des résidences privées et qu’il se déplace tous les mois, l’inscription à l’avance est obligatoire.

Pour plus d’information sur le programme Ofakim, veuillez contacter Adrienne.Sholzberg@federationcja.org.

  • michael daren dit :

    Libby is our daughter. We are thrilled at the initiative that she & Kevin & their friends have taken & are most appreciative of the Montreal Community’s support.

    Our grandchildren are so precious to us its gratifying to see this opportunity for them to connect Jewishly (?)

    Kol Hakavod & our thanks.

  • Abi dit :

    Je cherche quelque chose similaire, mais plutôt proche de Laval, Est-ce que ça existe?
    Merci, pour l’information.

  • Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos commentaires sur le contenu de cet article ou sur tout autre sujet.

    Faites un commentaire

    Les commentaires des lecteurs reflètent l’opinion de leurs auteurs et non celle de la Fédération CJA.

    Les commentaires comportant des allégations erronées ou non fondées ne seront pas publiés, pas plus que ne le seront les commentaires dont les propos seront diffamatoires, inexacts, grossiers, déplaisants, irrespectueux, injurieux, vulgaires, haineux, malveillants, obscènes, blasphématoires, à tendance sexuelle ou menaçants.

    Les commentaires basés sur des ouï-dire ou sur des rapports dont les présumés faits ou mentions ne seront pas de notoriété publique pourraient également ne pas être publiés.

    La Fédération CJA se réserve le droit de s’abstenir de publier les commentaires qui seraient considérés comme du pourriel ou qui n’auraient aucun lien avec les articles apparaissant sur le site Web. Les commentaires, qui comportent des attaques personnelles aux auteurs de commentaires affichés sur ce site Web ou qui nuisent à la vie privée d’une autre personne, pourraient ne pas être publiés.

    Les fautes de grammaire et d’orthographe ne seront pas corrigées.