Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic cookbook provides recipe for engagement

This spring, Women’s Philanthropy of Federation CJA will launch the Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic cookbook, a masterfully-selected collection of culinary delights that truly reflect both the cultural diversity of the Montreal Jewish community and the over 200 women who were involved in putting it together.

Getting women involved

The cookbook is a triumph in many respects, but perhaps most notably in its ability to engage and mobilize a large contingent of women who were previously less affiliated within Federation.

200+

volunteers worked on Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic

“Food acts as a unifying force. It has the power to ignite the creativity and passion of many women. This cookbook has been a wonderful engagement gateway,” stated Rhonda Leibner, Top Chef of this initiative along with fellow Top Chef, Debby Newpol.

“When we began this project, over 150 previously uninvolved women came forward to participate by submitting, cooking, and testing all the recipes,” said Etty Bienstock, who along with Leibner, Newpol and fellow Top Chefs, Gail Adelson-Marcovitz and Heather Paperman, worked tirelessly to bring the idea from concept to reality. In fact, it was under the leadership of Gail Adelson-Marcovitz, who at the time was President of Women’s Philanthropy, that this cookbook came to fruition. She noted, “Many women of today want to get involved in a more hands-on way. They desire more tangible experiences – to truly feel it. The beauty of hands-on volunteerism is that you feel a deeper connection to both your community, and the work you perform to support it.”

Continuing to make an impact

All this underscores the perpetual nature of engagement and community involvement, and the importance of developing fun and creative ways to get people involved.  With Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic, the Montreal Jewish community will have an important book that reflects who we are, where we come from, and a lasting reminder of what we can accomplish when hundreds of us are mobilized for a common cause.

The impact of their engagement can also be found elsewhere. With the cookbook as the catalyst to community involvement, many women from the Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic team, now participate in “Cooking for a Cause”, under the Chairmanship of Shawna Goodman-Sone (a chef in her own right), in which they prepare food for our community’s most vulnerable.

By women, to help women

Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic will launch on April 24th. Cementing its legacy, the cookbook brings with it a perpetual sense of philanthropy. All proceeds will go towards women’s causes in our community, with the Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic team having direct involvement in the allocation process. In the meantime, the book can be pre-ordered here.

You can preview some recipes below.

We welcome your feedback and invite your comments.

Leave a comment

Reader comments are the opinion of the comment writer, not Federation CJA

Comments that make false or unsubstantiated allegations will not be published, nor will comments that contain defamatory, inaccurate, rude, distasteful, disrespectful, abusive, vulgar, hateful, harassing, obscene, profane, sexually oriented or threatening language.

Comments that use hearsay or are based on reports where the supposed fact or quote is not a matter of public knowledge also may not be permitted.

Federation CJA reserves the right to withhold from publication comments that are deemed to be spam or unrelated to the article at which they are posted. Comments that include personal attacks on other people taking part in this website and/or are invasive of another's privacy may also be withheld from publication.

Spelling and grammatical mistakes will not be corrected.

Le livre de cuisine Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic fournit la recette de l’engagement

Au printemps, la Philanthropie des femmes de la Fédération CJA lancera le livre de recettes Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic. Cette collection de délices culinaires sélectionnée avec soin reflète tant la diversité culturelle de la communauté juive montréalaise que le dévouement des quelque 200 femmes qui ont mis la main à la pâte pour la concocter.

Stimuler l’engagement chez les femmes

Le livre de recettes est un succès à bien des égards, et surtout dans sa capacité à attirer et à mobiliser de nombreuses femmes qui n’avaient, jusqu’ici, aucun lien avec la Fédération CJA.

Plus de 200

bénévoles ont participé à la réalisation de Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic

« La nourriture est une force unifiante. Elle a le don de susciter la créativité et la passion chez plusieurs femmes. Ce livre de recettes a été une merveilleuse porte d’entrée vers l’engagement », a affirmé Rhonda Leibner, Grand chef de l’initiative en compagnie d’un autre Grand chef, Debby Newpol.

« Au début du projet, plus de 150 femmes qui ne se sentaient pas du tout concernées auparavant se sont portées volontaires pour y participer en soumettant, en cuisinant et en testant toutes les recettes », a déclaré Etty Bienstock qui, avec Mmes Leibner, Newpol et les autres Grands chefs Gail Adelson-Marcovitz et Heather Paperman, a travaillé sans relâche pour que le concept prenne forme.  En fait, c’est sous le leadership de Gail Adelson-Marcovitz, présidente dela Philanthropie des femmes de l’époque, que le projet est finalement devenu réalité. Elle fait d’ailleurs remarquer que : « Beaucoup de femmes modernes veulent s’engager de façon plus concrète. Elles désirent une expérience plus tangible – une expérience qu’elles pourront vraiment ressentir. La beauté du bénévolat sur le terrain est qu’il permet une connexion profonde tant avec la communauté qu’avec le travail accompli pour appuyer celle-ci. »

Des retombées positives

Cet exemple souligne la nature permanente de l’engagement et du dévouement envers la communauté ainsi que l’importance de développer des moyens divertissants et novateurs incitant les gens à s’investir. Grâce à Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic, la communauté juive de Montréal possédera un ouvrage important qui reflétera ce qu’elle est et d’où elle vient. Mosaic demeurera un témoignage impérissable de ce que nous pouvons réaliser lorsque des centaines de nos membres se mobilisent pour une cause commune.

Les retombées du dévouement de ces femmes sont également visibles ailleurs. Grâce au livre de recettes qui a servi de catalyseur à leur engagement communautaire, plusieurs femmes de l’équipe de Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic participent maintenant à l’initiative « Cuisiner pour une bonne cause » présidée par Shawna Goodman-Sone (un chef accompli), dans le cadre de laquelle elles mitonnent de bons plats pour les membres les plus démunis de la communauté.

Par des femmes, pour venir en aide à des femmes

Le lancement de Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic aura lieu le 24 avril. Destiné à faire sa marque dans l’avenir, le livre de recettes est synonyme de philanthropie. En effet, tous les profits serviront des causes venant en aide à des femmes de la communauté, car l’équipe de Women’s Philanthropy Mosaic aura droit au chapitre dans le processus d’allocation des fonds. Entre-temps, le livre peut être précommandé ici.

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos commentaires sur le contenu de cet article ou sur tout autre sujet.

Faites un commentaire

Les commentaires des lecteurs reflètent l’opinion de leurs auteurs et non celle de la Fédération CJA.

Les commentaires comportant des allégations erronées ou non fondées ne seront pas publiés, pas plus que ne le seront les commentaires dont les propos seront diffamatoires, inexacts, grossiers, déplaisants, irrespectueux, injurieux, vulgaires, haineux, malveillants, obscènes, blasphématoires, à tendance sexuelle ou menaçants.

Les commentaires basés sur des ouï-dire ou sur des rapports dont les présumés faits ou mentions ne seront pas de notoriété publique pourraient également ne pas être publiés.

La Fédération CJA se réserve le droit de s’abstenir de publier les commentaires qui seraient considérés comme du pourriel ou qui n’auraient aucun lien avec les articles apparaissant sur le site Web. Les commentaires, qui comportent des attaques personnelles aux auteurs de commentaires affichés sur ce site Web ou qui nuisent à la vie privée d’une autre personne, pourraient ne pas être publiés.

Les fautes de grammaire et d’orthographe ne seront pas corrigées.