Meeting the Mentors: engaging and supporting students in their academic success

An Agence Ometz initiative, Maximize Youth Potential (MYP) and Junior MYP are programs that focus on engaging and supporting children, adolescents and young adults in their academic success.  The primary objective is to break the cycle of poverty by encouraging, supporting and working with children, adolescents and young adults from high-risk families, to ensure that they complete high school and enter post-secondary studies.

The programs receive tremendous support from members of our community who generously donate their time to tutor and mentor its participants. As volunteers, Lara Feldman and Zoe Polsky were kind enough to share their experiences with Tikun Olam.

Mentor and Tutor: Lara Feldman

Lara Feldman

Lara Feldman is a Psychology student at McGill University. Her love for working with kids eventually compelled her to become a tutor in Agence Ometz’s afterschool Maximizing Youth Potential (MYP) program, where she had also volunteered as a mentor.

[Tikun Olam] How did you first get involved with Ometz? Can you please offer a little glimpse into the community work you’ve done over the last few years?

[Lara Feldman] About a year ago, I decided that I wanted to get involved in the Jewish community in some capacity but I didn’t really know what I could do or what programs existed. I found the Ometz website online and was impressed by the diversity of the programs they offered to the community.

I first got involved in their mentorship program which was incredibly rewarding and taught me a lot about what it meant to be a role model to someone. I was involved in that until the end of last school year, and now I have just started being a tutor in their Maximize Youth Potential Program.

[T.O.] I understand that you’ve been both a mentor and a tutor. How would you compare the roles?

[L.F.] In a lot of ways, they’re similar and there is an overlap between the two roles. The tutoring program is unique in the sense that instead of teaching the kids how to do a specific problem, we’re teaching them the tools to find the answers on their own. Every tutoring session is centered on the individual needs of the pupil, rather than on a specific school subject and we try to make it very personal. The biggest difference between the two is that as a tutor, my relationship is built on helping the student develop the techniques needed to tackle school, whereas as a mentor, I was helping the child I was mentoring develop the techniques she needed to tackle life.

[T.O.] How would you describe the relationship/bond you formed with the child you were mentoring?

[L.F.] My relationship with my mentee developed more quickly than I had anticipated. I was paired with an incredible young girl who shared many of the same interests as me so we had a lot of fun bonding over activities that we both enjoyed. We did lots of art projects, learned how to skate together and loved going out for mushroom pizza, all the while talking about what was going on in each other’s lives. It was a rewarding experience that we both gained from and I always looked forward to our Sunday afternoons together.

[T.O.] What have you learned from your mentee? What have you gained out of the experience?

[L.F.] I learned what it meant to be a role model to someone. I was constantly surprised by the fact that weeks later, my mentee would bring something up that I had mentioned in passing and would have given something I said a lot of thought. Moments like that made me realize what kind of impact I was having on her.

[T.O.] What makes a good mentor? Tutor? Which personal qualities do you feel enabled you to excel in both roles?

[L.F.] I think that’s a hard question to answer because there’s no set formula or characteristics that make one person a better tutor/mentor than another. Sure, patience and good listening skills are definitely necessary, but the most important factor, in my opinion, is the relationship built between mentor/mentee or tutor/student. A really successful tutor or mentor, from my perspective, is someone who creates an environment that the child can feel at ease in and establishes a relationship built on trust. That enables the child to feel comfortable to opening up and getting the most out of the program that they’re a part of. That’s what I try to do, anyway.

[T.O.] Though I’m sure, they’re plentiful… what has been the most rewarding experience so far?

[L.F.] In terms of tutoring, the most rewarding experience is always that moment when you see the concepts start to make sense for a student. I love that look they get on their face when all of a sudden; a problem that seemed impossible five minutes ago transforms and becomes clear to them.

Mentoring was a far more complex experience and therefore the rewards were more multifaceted. Like I’ve already mentioned, I loved when she would bring things up that we spoke about in the past, I loved learning how to skate with her since both of us clinging to one another definitely helped build our relationship, and the list goes on and on.

[T.O.] What are some of the issues you’ve helped your mentee overcome?

[L.F.] Friend problems, Mean teachers, Siblings that get on our nerves. Just normal girl problems!

[T.O.] A common misconception is that many people see mentorship programs as solely for troubled youth. In what ways do you feel the value of mentorship extends beyond that?

[L.F.] That’s definitely a misconception! A mentor takes on a role as more of a big brother or big sister, not as a psychologist or as a social worker. I think any young girl can benefit from having an older role model to look up to and that’s exactly what a mentor is there for. Mentors help a child confirm that what they’re going through is normal, they are someone to have fun with and they are there to talk to like one may with any friend.

Mentor - Zoe Polsky

Zoe Polsky

Originally from Calgary, Zoe Polsky came to Montreal to study anatomy and kinesiology at McGill University. She got involved with Ometz and the mentorship program last September after hearing about it through a friend on campus.

[Tikun Olam] How did you first get involved with the Ometz mentoring program?

[Zoe Polsky] After hearing about the mentorship program from through a friend, I met with Janice Heft and had an interview. At the time, I wasn’t sure what to expect. She interviewed me on my interests, age groups I feel I would best relate to, and ended up matching me with a girl who was thirteen at the time.

[T.O.] How much did you know about the girl you were about to mentor?

[Z.P.] I didn’t get a lot of background information; however I feel that by going in somewhat blind, it allowed me to enter the relationship without any preconceived notions. This kind of forced me to build my own impressions, which allowed me to build trust quicker, and identify the areas of her life where she needed a bit more guidance.

[T.O.] I understand you volunteered to many causes back in Calgary. What do you feel makes the Ometz mentorship program unique compared to other youth groups and initiatives?

[Z.P.] It’s definitely a different dynamic. What makes it a wonderful program is how much you actually get to form a personal connection with your mentee and watch them grow.

I feel that this kind of program, and the one-on-one mentoring it offers, is less intimidating then, say, a youth organization where a girl has to find a role model amongst a larger group. That kind of environment doesn’t always favor the shy, more introverted types, and sometimes they don’t receive the guidance or role modeling they need.

[T.O.] Describe the growth you’ve witnessed in your mentee since you began working together.

[Z.P.] I’ve seen a lot of growth and maturity. To be honest, I never expected to watch her mature so quickly, and it’s definitely incredible to see the confidence she’s gained in the process.

[T.O.] What are some of the obstacles you feel you had to overcome to excel as a mentor?

[Z.P.] When I first started, I was determined to discover her problems, and attach them to prescribed solutions. Over time, I realized that there wasn’t necessarily a “root cause” or particular issue to uncover. My mentee just needed female role modeling. Being able to offer her that one-on-one time allowed her personality to shine through.

[T.O.] What has been the highlight of the program for you?

[Z.P.] As cliché as it sounds, there was a point where I was away for the summer and hadn’t seen my mentee for two months. I came back, desperately hoping that there wouldn’t be any back steps. But the second we saw each other again, the moment offered the affirmation I needed to know that our relationship really matters, and that I’ve become an influential component of her life, and her of mine. It was just a really special moment.

[T.O.] Can you offer any advice for people who are considering being a mentor?

[Z.P.] Be patient. Because your relationship might not take flight right off the bat. There are a lot of baby steps along the way. Trust building is essential; and it could take months or years before you even reach that level. Nothing can be forced. You just have to let the relationship evolve organically.

You can learn more about the programs on the Agence Ometz website.

We welcome your feedback and invite your comments.

Leave a comment

Reader comments are the opinion of the comment writer, not Federation CJA

Comments that make false or unsubstantiated allegations will not be published, nor will comments that contain defamatory, inaccurate, rude, distasteful, disrespectful, abusive, vulgar, hateful, harassing, obscene, profane, sexually oriented or threatening language.

Comments that use hearsay or are based on reports where the supposed fact or quote is not a matter of public knowledge also may not be permitted.

Federation CJA reserves the right to withhold from publication comments that are deemed to be spam or unrelated to the article at which they are posted. Comments that include personal attacks on other people taking part in this website and/or are invasive of another's privacy may also be withheld from publication.

Spelling and grammatical mistakes will not be corrected.

Rencontre avec des mentors : encourager et appuyer des jeunes dans leur cheminement scolaire

Initiatives de l’agence Ometz, les programmes Maximiser le potentiel de la jeunesse (MPJ) et MPJ — Volet junior ont été conçus pour appuyer les enfants, les adolescents et les jeunes adultes dans leur cheminement scolaire. Cependant, leur principal objectif est de briser le cycle de la pauvreté. Ainsi, en encourageant et en soutenant ces membres de familles à haut risque, on s’assure qu’ils poursuivent des études postsecondaires.

Le programme reçoit un incroyable appui sous forme de tutorat et de mentorat de plusieurs membres de notre communauté. Les bénévoles, Lara Feldman et Zoe Polsky ont accepté de partager leurs expériences respectives avec l’équipe du Tikun Olam.

Le mentorat et le tutorat selon Lara Feldman

Lara Feldman

Lara Feldman étudie en psychologie à l’Université McGill. Son amour des enfants l’a convaincue de devenir tutrice, puis mentore pour le programme parascolaire Maximiser le potentiel de la jeunesse (MPJ) de l’agence Ometz.

[Tikun Olam] Quel a été votre premier engagement auprès de Ometz? Pouvez-vous nous donner un aperçu du travail communautaire que vous avez effectué ces dernières années?

[Lara Feldman] Il y a environ un an, j’ai pris la décision de devenir active au sein de la communauté juive, mais je ne savais pas ce que je pouvais faire ni même quels programmes étaient offerts. J’ai découvert le site Web de Ometz et j’ai été impressionnée par la diversité des programmes qui y figuraient.

J’ai commencé par le programme de mentorat, qui été pour moi incroyablement gratifiant et qui m’a beaucoup appris sur le fait de servir de modèle à quelqu’un d’autre. J’y ai participé toute l’année passée. Cette année, j’ai préféré devenir tutrice pour le programme Maximiser le potentiel de la jeunesse.

[T.O.] Je comprends que vous avez été mentore et tutrice. Comment comparez-vous ces deux rôles?

[L.F.] Ces deux rôles se ressemblent à plusieurs égards et ils se chevauchent parfois. Le programme de tutorat est unique, parce qu’au lieu d’enseigner aux enfants la façon de résoudre un problème, nous leur faisons découvrir les outils dont ils ont besoin pour trouver eux-mêmes la solution. Toutes les séances de tutorat sont centrées sur les besoins individuels de l’élève au lieu d’être axées sur une matière en particulier. Nous tentons de personnaliser la rencontre le plus possible. La plus grande différence entre le mentorat et le tutorat? En tant que tutrice, j’oriente ma relation avec l’étudiant autour des techniques requises pour remédier à des problèmes scolaires tandis qu’en tant que mentore, j’aide des jeunes à affronter des difficultés quotidiennes.

[T.O.] Comment décririez-vous la relation, le lien, que vous bâtissez avec l’enfant que vous accompagnez en tant que mentore?

[L.F.] Ma relation avec ma « mentorée » s’est développée beaucoup plus vite que je l’avais prévu. J’ai été jumelée à une jeune fille incroyable qui partageait plusieurs de mes champs d’intérêt. Nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir à faire des activités que nous aimions tous les deux, comme des projets d’art et du patinage. Nous adorions aller manger de la pizza aux champignons tout en discutant de nos vies respectives. Nous avons tiré toutes les deux beaucoup de leçons de notre relation. J’attendais avec impatience le dimanche après-midi pour passer du temps avec elle.

[T.O.] Qu’avez-vous appris de votre « mentorée »? Qu’avez-vous retiré de cette expérience?

[L.F.] J’ai appris l’importance que représentent les modèles dans la vie de chacun. J’étais constamment surprise par le fait que, quelques semaines plus tard, ma « mentorée » glissait dans la conversation des notions dont nous avions parlé et auxquelles elle avait longuement réfléchi. De tels moments m’ont permis de prendre conscience de l’impact que j’avais sur elle.

[T.O.] Quelles sont les qualités personnelles qui vous ont permis d’être une bonne mentore et tutrice?

[L.F.] Je pense qu’il est difficile de répondre à cette question, car il n’y a pas de recette fixe ni de qualités précises qui font d’une personne une meilleure mentore ou tutrice qu’une autre. Bien entendu, la patience et une bonne écoute sont assurément nécessaires, mais à mon avis, le facteur le plus important est d’être capable de bâtir une relation entre le mentor et le « mentoré » ou entre le tuteur et l’étudiant. Un tuteur ou un mentor qui a du succès, selon moi, est une personne qui crée un environnement au sein duquel le jeune se sent à l’aise et qui établit avec lui une relation de confiance. Cela permet à l’enfant d’être assez décontracté pour s’ouvrir et pour retirer le maximum de sa participation au programme. C’est ce que j’essaie de faire.

[T.O.] Même si elles sont probablement nombreuses, quelles ont été vos expériences les plus gratifiantes à ce jour?

[L.F.] Pour les tuteurs, l’expérience la plus gratifiante correspond au moment où vous voyez que les concepts commencent à être compris par l’étudiant. J’adore cette expression sur leur visage lorsque, tout d’un coup, un problème qui leur semblait incompréhensible cinq minutes auparavant devient clair.

Le mentorat est une expérience beaucoup plus complexe, et les récompenses qu’on en retire ont plus d’une facette. Comme je l’ai dit plus tôt, j’adorais aborder des sujets dont nous avions parlé auparavant. J’ai adoré apprendre à patiner en sa compagnie de ma « mentorée », car nous nous soutenions l’une l’autre pour éviter de tomber. Cette expérience nous a beaucoup aidées à bâtir notre relation. La liste pourrait continuer très longtemps…

[T.O.] Quels sont les problèmes que vous avez aidé à régler auprès de votre « mentorée »?

[L.F.] Des problèmes avec ses amies, des enseignants sévères, ses sœurs et ses frères qui l’énervaient. Des problèmes de fille!

[T.O.] Nombreux sont ceux qui croient que le mentorat s’adresse seulement aux jeunes à problème. De quelle façon pensez-vous que la valeur du mentorat va plus loin que ça?

[L.F.] C’est en effet un préjugé! Le mentor joue plutôt le rôle d’un grand frère ou d’une grande sœur, pas celui d’un psychologue ou d’un travailleur social. Je pense que toutes les jeunes filles peuvent profiter de l’exemple d’un modèle plus âgé. C’est la raison pour laquelle le mentorat existe. Les mentors confirment aux enfants que ce qu’ils vivent est normal, ils sont des personnes avec qui on peut avoir du plaisir et avec qui on peut parler comme avec des amis.

Le mentorat selon Zoe Polsky

Zoe Polsky

Originaire de Calgary, Zoe étudie l’anatomie et la kinésiologie à l’Université McGill. Elle s’est engagée au sein du programme de mentorat de Ometz en septembre dernier après en avoir entendu parler par une de ses amies sur le campus.

[Tikun Olam] Qu’est-ce qui vous a motivée à vous engager auprès de Ometz et du programme de mentorat?

[Zoe Polsky] Après avoir entendu parler du programme de mentorat par une amie, j’ai rencontré Janice Heft pour une entrevue. À ce moment-là, je n’étais pas certaine de ce à quoi je devais m’attendre. Mme Heft m’a posé des questions sur mes intérêts et sur les groupes d’âge avec lesquels je m’entendais le mieux. Ensuite, on m’a jumelé à une jeune fille de treize ans.

[T.O.] Que saviez-vous de la jeune fille à laquelle vous étiez jumelée?

[Z.P.] Je n’ai pas reçu beaucoup de renseignements à son sujet; par contre, je considère que de me lancer à l’aveuglette m’a permis d’aborder la relation sans idée préconçue. J’ai dû me faire ma propre opinion. La confiance s’est ainsi établie et j’ai pu cerner les divers aspects de sa vie où mes conseils lui seraient le plus utiles.

[T.O.] Je sais que vous étiez bénévole pour différents organismes à Calgary. Selon vous, en quoi le programme de Ometz est-il différent d’autres projets pour jeunes?

[Z.P.] La dynamique n’est pas du tout la même. Il est merveilleux de pouvoir créer des liens personnels avec la jeune dont vous êtes responsable et de la voir évoluer. Je trouve que ce genre de programme et que le mentorat individuel sont moins intimidants que les groupes de jeunes dans lesquels il faut trouver soi-même une personne qui nous servira de modèle. Ce type d’environnement n’est pas toujours favorable aux adolescents timides ou introvertis. Par conséquent, ces jeunes ne bénéficient pas toujours de l’environnement dont ils auraient besoin.

[T.O.] Pourriez-vous nous décrire l’évolution que vous avez remarquée chez votre « mentorée » depuis que vous avez commencé à l’accompagner?

[Z.P.] Elle s’est vraiment développée et a acquis beaucoup de maturité. Honnêtement, je ne pensais pas la voir grandir si vite, et c’est incroyable de voir toute la confiance en elle qu’elle a acquise.

[T.O.] Quels sont les obstacles que vous avez dû surmonter pour devenir une excellente mentore?

[Z.P.] Lorsque j’ai débuté, j’étais déterminée à cerner les problèmes de ma « mentorée » pour lui proposer des solutions. Avec le temps, j’ai réalisé qu’il n’y avait pas nécessairement de source à ses problèmes ou de questions à régler. Ma « mentorée » avait seulement besoin d’un modèle féminin. En lui donnant du temps, j’ai pu la voir s’épanouir.

[T.O.] Quel est selon vous, le point fort du programme?

[Z.P.] Aussi cliché que cela puisse paraître, j’ai été absente pour l’été et je n’ai pas vu ma « mentorée » pendant deux mois. Quand je suis revenue, j’espérais qu’il n’y aurait pas de retour en arrière. Le moment où nous nous sommes revues a confirmé tout ce que j’avais besoin de savoir, c’est-à-dire que notre relation était importante. Que j’étais désormais un élément déterminant de sa vie, autant qu’elle l’était pour moi. C’était un moment très spécial.

[T.O.] Pouvez-vous fournir un conseil à ceux qui voudraient devenir mentors?

[Z.P.] Soyez patients, parce que la relation peut ne pas se développer dès le début. Il y a plusieurs petits pas à faire. Établir la confiance est essentiel, et cela peut prendre des mois ou même des années. Vous devez seulement laisser la relation se développer naturellement.

Pour en savoir plus sur ces programmes, consultez le site Web de  l’Agence Ometz.

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos commentaires sur le contenu de cet article ou sur tout autre sujet.

Faites un commentaire

Les commentaires des lecteurs reflètent l’opinion de leurs auteurs et non celle de la Fédération CJA.

Les commentaires comportant des allégations erronées ou non fondées ne seront pas publiés, pas plus que ne le seront les commentaires dont les propos seront diffamatoires, inexacts, grossiers, déplaisants, irrespectueux, injurieux, vulgaires, haineux, malveillants, obscènes, blasphématoires, à tendance sexuelle ou menaçants.

Les commentaires basés sur des ouï-dire ou sur des rapports dont les présumés faits ou mentions ne seront pas de notoriété publique pourraient également ne pas être publiés.

La Fédération CJA se réserve le droit de s’abstenir de publier les commentaires qui seraient considérés comme du pourriel ou qui n’auraient aucun lien avec les articles apparaissant sur le site Web. Les commentaires, qui comportent des attaques personnelles aux auteurs de commentaires affichés sur ce site Web ou qui nuisent à la vie privée d’une autre personne, pourraient ne pas être publiés.

Les fautes de grammaire et d’orthographe ne seront pas corrigées.